Autumn Campus

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln, chartered in 1869, is an educational institution of international stature. UNL is recognized by the Carnegie Foundation as a Doctoral/Research Extensive university. Today, the University of Nebraska is also one of the nation's leading teaching institutions—ranked by the American Association of Colleges and Universities among the top five research universities for innovative undergraduate teaching—and a research leader with a wide array of grant-funded projects aimed at broadening knowledge in the sciences and humanities.

As a member of the University of Nebraska system, UNL serves as both the land-grant and the comprehensive public University for the State of Nebraska. Nearly 25,900 students enrolled for Fall 2016, drawing students from all 50 states of the U.S. and 135 foreign countries. The University of Nebraska-Lincoln offers 44 doctoral and 70 master's degrees, and 183 undergraduate majors.

Browse Just the Facts for quick stats about UNL.

Role and Mission

The role of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln, as the primary intellectual and cultural resource for the State, is fulfilled through the three missions of the University: teaching, research, and service. UNL pursues its missions through the Colleges of Architecture, Arts and Sciences, Business Administration, Education and Human Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts, Journalism and Mass Communications, Law, the university-wide Graduate College, and the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, which includes the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, the Agricultural Research Division, the Cooperative Extension Division, and the Conservation and Survey Division. Approximately 1,100 full-time, tenure-track faculty and 220 Postdoctoral Research Associates conduct their work at UNL.

Read more about UNL's overall role and mission and, more specifically, in terms of teaching, research, and service.